George Key School

2016-2017 Calendar

District/School Calendar

OPENING/CLOSING OF SCHOOLS

First Day of School (Preppy K-12)................................................................. Monday, August 29, 2016

Last Day of School (Preschool only) ............................................................. Wednesday, June 14, 2017

Last Day of School (Preppy K-12 Minimum Day) ............................................ Thursday, June 15, 2017


NON-STUDENT/SCHOOL HOLIDAY SCHEDULE

Non-Student Day ..............................................................................Friday, September 2, 2016

Labor Day ......................................................................................Monday, September 5, 2016

Veterans’ Day .............................................................................Friday, November 11, 2016

Parent Conference (Elementary Students Only) .........................Friday, November 18, 2016

Non-Student Day ............................................Monday-Wednesday, November 21-23, 2016

Thanksgiving Holiday..............................................Thursday & Friday, November 24 & 25, 2016

Winter Recess (11 days) ..................................Monday, December 19 – Monday, January 2, 2017

Martin Luther King Jr. Day .................................................................Monday, January 16, 2017

Middle/High School End of Semester Grading Day............................ Friday, January 27, 2017

Lincoln’s Birthday........................................................................... Monday, February 13, 2017

Presidents’ Holiday (Washington’s Birthday).................................... Monday, February 20, 2017

Spring Recess (5 days) (prior to Easter April 16)....Monday, April 10 – Friday, April 14, 2017

Memorial Day......................................................................................Monday, May 29, 2017


MINIMUM DAYS

Elementary/Middle School Grading Day(NOT G KEY) ................ Friday, October 28, 2016

Parent Conference (Elementary Only) (NOT G KEY)......Wed & Thurs, November 16 & 17, 2015

Semester Finals (Secondary Only) …(ALL G KEY)…..........Wed& Thur, January 25 & 26, 2016

Elementary Grading Day ...................(NOT G KEY) .................................. Friday, March 3, 2016

Middle School Grading Day ...............(NOT G KEY).................................... Friday, April 7, 2016

Elementary Grading Day ...................(NOT G KEY).................................... Friday, June 9, 2016

Semester Finals (Secondary Only) ..(ALL G KEY)..Wednesday & Thursday, June 14 & 15, 2016

Last Day of School (Minimum Day)  TOTAL DISTRICT ...Thursday, June 15, 2016 


 **STAFF DEVELOPMENT DAYS**

GEORGE KEY SCHOOL will follow a minimum day schedule as outlined below for the following dates. 

Please see the PYLUSD Website School Calendar for other Elementary & Secondary School’s Staff Development Days

GEORGE KEY MINIMUM DAY SCHOOL HOURS

Kindergarten – 9:00am – 12:30pm

1st Grade thru Adult transition:  9:00am – 1:15pm


Staff Development . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  Friday, September 30, 2016

Staff Development . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Friday, October 21, 2016

Staff Development . . . . . . . . . . . .  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (No Early Release) November

Staff Development . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  Friday, December 15, 2016

Staff Development . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  Friday, January 20, 2017

Staff Development . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . .  Friday, February 24, 2017

Staff Development . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Friday, March 31, 2017

Staff Development . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . Friday, April 28, 2017

Staff Development . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . .  . Friday, May 19, 2017  


GRADING PERIOD

End of First Quarter/Trimester ………………..........………………..................... Friday, October 28, 2016

End of Second Trimester ………………...…………...………………………….......... Friday, March 3, 2017

End of Fourth Quarter/Third Trimester (2nd Semester) ……..………………….… Thursday, June 15, 2017


SPECIAL EVENTS

Back-to-School Night…………………………………........Wednesday, October 5, 2016

Halloween Parade……………………………………...…..…… Monday, October 31, 2016

Thanksgiving Feast…………………………………….… Wednesday, November 16, 2016

Rotary Luncheon ………………………………………...…….  Friday, December 9, 2016

Winter Program……………………………………………  Thursday, December 15, 2016

Pizza Fundraiser……………………………………..…........  Wednesday, March 8, 2017

Carnival/Jog-A-Thon………………………………………………….Friday, April 28, 2017

Open House……………………………………………………………..Friday, May 26, 2017